Handicapped


I work at a pretty big corporate office and there are about 800 parking spaces with several handicapped parking spaces near the entrances, of course.  There is also at least one “Maternity” parking space.  For some reason, this bothers me so much.  I know it’s probably meant for those women who work until the day they go into labor (good for them!), but I just don’t feel it is necessary.

Pregnancy is not a condition or illness or handicap.  Walking is one of the best things you can do when you’re pregnant to stay healthy, have a healthier baby and easier labor.  If there is a reason you cannot walk or cannot walk far, then your doctor should give you a temporary handicap sticker for your car.  There is absolutely no reason to have “Maternity” or “Stork” parking.  Maybe more women would be having easier labors without c-sections and complications if they got off of their lazy, fat, pregnant asses and stopped shoving everything they can into their mouths for nine months and parking in ridiculous spaces to save from having to walk 20 extra feet.

Ok, I’m done my rant 🙂

Leave a comment