Raising Assholes


Ok, so I know the title is kind of crass maybe, but it really is appropriate.  I’m not really sure if what I’ve been doing is blogging…it seems like I’m just going on mini-rants about stuff that annoys me, but here’s another one…

So I took my daughter to her dance class (very basic 3-5yr old dance) and a woman  was there waiting for her daughter to finish the class before ours.  She gave her daughter her cell phone to play with (she looked about 3 or 4) and then once she was all packed up, she took it back and put it in her purse.  The little girl then said “I want it!” (really, she demanded it).  The mother then said “I’ll give it to you when we get in the car”.  She also had an 11 week old son in a baby seat to carry.  The little girl sat on the chair and said “NO! I want it NOW!” and continued to demand the phone.

Now, I understand toddlers get cranky and try to test limits, BUT the mother then said again “I’ll give it to you when we get in the car”.  I could not believe my ears.  I know some people don’t like correcting or disciplining their children in front of others, so maybe she was waiting to yell at her until they got in the car, but still, she allowed the girl to act like a completely spoiled brat.  I have never nor will I ever allow my daughter to speak to me like that while we’re alone, let alone in public!  I like the “Counting” strategy and it has worked very well, so now I rarely get to 2 and never even get to 3 before my daughter listens.  I’m not saying that I’m a perfect parent, but I have remained consistent and firm, but don’t use physical punishment, so it is possible to raise well-behaved children that don’t fear you.

I guess the point of this article is that after seeing how some parents just have no clue how to raise children and have to resort to services like “Super Nanny” and such, it makes sense why there are so many assholes in this world.  That little girl may grow up to be one.

Leave a comment